Homemade

18 Mar

I’m a food-loving girl, and I think that will become abundantly clear in this blog. And what’s more, my Midwestern roots have firmly anchored my love for anything homemade. In the past week, just for fun and even with two early morning work events and my birthday on the calendar, I made a baguette, a pizza dough, and an intricate, yet completely simple, grilled mole-spiced flank steak. (That’s not to say I didn’t splurge on Matchbox pizza and sliders on my birthday thanks to Chris and Kristen!) To me, the hard-earned effort of slaving over a labor intensive meal just makes it taste better.

And if it hasn’t already become abundantly clear, I’m all about bread and its 4 subgroups: rice, pasta, pizza, and biscuits. My coworkers joke that I would be the world’s best prisoner – happily surviving on bread and water. That is, as long as the bread is homemade!

Ancho and Cocoa Carne Asada: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Ancho-and-Cocoa-Carne-Asada-351852
One-a-Day Baguette: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/One-a-Day-Baguette-14497
Pizza Dough: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/sara-moulton/pizza-dough-recipe/index.html

One Response to “Homemade”

  1. PJ March 18, 2009 at 3:36 am #

    Really? I don’t think it really has to be homemade…you’re like the Bread equivalent of the Cookie Monster, but without the blue fur and floppy, boneless arms…(“boneless arms” actually sounds kinda delicious)

Leave a Reply

