Herbed Baked Eggs: This is not a recipe to miss

27 Mar

barefoot
My friend Alison is not afraid to try a new recipe, loves to make homemade goodies, and won’t settle for anything less than delicious. Years ago, she invited my then-roommate and I over for a dinner of Barefoot in Paris’ Herbed Baked Eggs. I consider myself an adventurous chef as well, but even though I frequently consult the same cookbook, I had never really paid any attention to this recipe.  (Eggs? Why?) I was sorely mistaken.

This recipe does wonders with two little eggs. It is absolutely packed with flavor, takes less than 10 minutes, and you almost always have the ingredients on hand.

Alison bought me the little dishes required to make this “dish” (although you can be creative and use other dishes – it just won’t turn out quite the same), and they serve as a constant reminder that I am able to make this delicious meal in under 10 minutes, whenever homemade, cheap and fast are my main requirements. It’s perfect for a quick dinner, but I would recommend it just as freely for breakfast or lunch.

One night a few months ago, my current roommate, Alexis, came home to the smell of these herbed baked eggs. I’d gotten home 5 minutes before, and I explained to her that it was no big deal – I just have a few eggs in the broiler. She was hooked, and since then, she has made these eggs at least once a month. She even made them for her mom last week. The allure of this dish is unreal. Her mom urged me to give her the recipe, which I happily supplied by flipping to my Barefoot in Paris Cookbook, which she admitted, she also had in her collection. 🙂

Ingredients – my notes are in parentheses:

  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh garlic (not required, but helpful)
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves (use dried if it’s what you have on hand. It will still be amazing. I also suggest replacing all of the herbs with dried Herbes de Provence to keep it simple)
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan (a must)
  • 6 extra-large eggs (make as many as you have or feel like eating)
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream (works fine with milk)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter (yes)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Toasted French bread or brioche, for serving

Link to the recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/herbed-baked-eggs-recipe2/index.html

Leave a Reply

