Parmesan Pull-Aparts

27 Mar

Are you into making dinner rolls lately? I am. Ever since I stole a Gourmet magazine from a pedicure salon (because it had all of these amazing looking dinner rolls in it) I have been so hooked.  The photos looked so amazing that I stopped by the grocery on my way home to pick up the ingredients (bearing the cold weather in pedicure-flip-flops — you can imagine my determination!).

I’ve had so much trouble learning how to make yeast activate, that while I was at the store, I grabbed a thermometer to make sure to get the right water temperature. My first attempt at these rolls were good, but they were too dense (I’m learning), but luckily, Steve knows a thing or two about baking.

Mom had always put her pizza dough out to rise in the warm kitchen window. I never heard her complain about an inability of her dough to rise, but every attempt I’ve made to find a warm enough spot to get bread to rise has failed me.

Parmesan Pull Aparts

I made the rolls again the next day. Steve suggested (and commandeered) putting the dough into a warm oven to rise. It worked like a charm: turn the oven on for a minute, turn it off, and put in the dough. They rose much better!  They were fluffy, cheesy, salty and delicious. They flew right out of the oven (didn’t even make it to the bread basket). They made perfect afternoon snacks and both Steve and I gobbled them up the next day at work. You may need to make extra!

Here’s the recipe if you want to try them: Parmesan Pull-Aparts: http://www.gourmet.com/recipes/2000s/2009/02/parmesan-pull-aparts

Parmesan Pull-Aparts

Makes1 dozen rolls
Active time:35 min
Start to finish:4 3/4 hr (includes rising)
Gourmet February 2009
These rolls have a lot in common with brioche—both are rich and tender, and they bake up with a gorgeous browned crust. However, these are much easier to make than that time-intensive bread, and they have the added advantage of aromatic Parmigiano-Reggiano. We guarantee they’ll fly out of the bread basket.

Ingredients:
2 teaspoons active dry yeast (from a 1/4-oz package)
1 teaspoon mild honey or sugar
2/3 cup warm milk (105–115°F), divided
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour plus 2 Tbsp for sprinkling
1 1/4 cups grated (with a rasp) Parmigiano-Reggiano (1 1/3 oz)
1 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into Tbsp pieces and softened
1 tablespoon water
Equipment:
a stand mixer fitted with paddle attachment (a willing-to-stir boyfriend always comes in handy when you don’t have a fancy stand mixer!)

Leave a Reply

