I <3 Frittatas

31 Mar

As soon as I finished whipping up my chicken stock last night, I needed to focus on dinner. I almost made herbed baked eggs, but I thought I’d share my second favorite egg dish: a varied-vegetable frittata.

Veggie Fritata

Most recipes call for potatoes in their frittatas, but I didn’t have any, so it’s a glorified omelette.  Whenever I make a frittata, I use whatever leftover vegetables I have that sound like they’d be good with eggs, then I saute them to remove excess water before adding to the eggs. I used some of the zucchini I’d bought at Eastern Market this weekend and sauteed them up in a pan.

Zucchini Sautee

I also blanched some asparagus. They looked so pretty in the colander.

Asparagus

I chopped up 2 asparagus stalks and put them in the pan with 3 eggs, salt, pepper and dried onion. I cooked the eggs on the bottom, pulling up the edges to let some of the uncooked eggs leak down to the bottom of the pan, then I put the pan in the broiler until done!  I topped it off with some leftover sauted mushrooms.  And voila! Frittata

One Response to “I <3 Frittatas”

  1. Kristen March 31, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

    love the easter candy in the background 😉

Leave a Reply

