Accordions of Goodness

29 Jul

hasselback potatoes stuffed with garlic and oozing with butterWith Food Network on in the background earlier today, I briefly saw Sunny Anderson chopping up potatoes in an unconventional way. I’ve never made any of her recipes before, and I think this was the second time I have ever watched her show. She’s a newbie, but from what I’ve seen so far, has some good potential for great recipes. I like her style. She’s adventurous with some classics and not afraid to add her own twist when she can’t find the right ingredient (right up my alley!)

So, when faced with a large bag of red potatoes just begging for me to do something with them, I thought I’d take a chance on this recipe. And when ingredients involve half a stick of butter, I’m usually game! (But check out this photo… if you’re feeling really brave!! This is more along the lines of what I really WANTED to do!)

These potatoes are a classic Swedish side dish. Although I’ve never heard of them, I was able to remember their name to look up the recipe thanks to the lovely Elizabeth Hasselbeck… Oh well, we all need little memory tricks!

Anyway, the potatoes remind me of a dish my mom always used to make called “Magic Potatoes.” Magic Potatoes are thinly sliced, but all the way through. Then they are lined up in a pan, covered with butter, and baked until crisp to perfection. With a little salt and pepper, they’re an instant crowd pleaser. These are similar, but could work great if you are in the mood for just one or two potatoes and not the whole casserole.

I’d recommend these potatoes, with a few additional tricks I’ve noted below. But all in all, it was fun to make and fun to eat.

Here’s the recipe from Food Network:
http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/garlic-hasselback-potatoes-with-herbed-sour-cream-recipe/index.html

Garlic Hasselback Potatoes with Herbed Sour Cream

  • Cook Time

    1 hr 0 min

  • Level

    Easy

  • Yield

    4 servings

Ingredients

  • 16 ounces red new potatoes (I used 10 red potatoes)
  • 3 to 5 garlic cloves, thinly sliced (I put 3 little slices in each potato, so you can plan accordingly. I think 3 is a good number without overdoing the garlic.)
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Herbed Sour Cream, recipe follows (I didn’t make this, but I’m sure it’s incredible. Hopefully Sara can report soon!)

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Using a wooden spoon as a cradle, place each potato in the spoon and make several parallel slits into each potato top making sure not to slice completely through.

potato catapult ready for slicing

Place 3 garlic slices between slits at the crown of each potato. Toss in a medium bowl with butter and olive oil (I would recommend putting them in a bowl to help the butter seep into the cracks. I merely drizzled the butter over them, and I think this would have been helpful). Place on a baking sheet and sprinkle generously with salt and pepper. Bake until tops are crispy and potatoes are cooked through, about 1 hour. Transfer to a platter and top with Herbed Sour Cream. (I sprinkled a little Parmesan cheese on top right before taking them out of the oven instead of using the Herbed Sour Cream.)

Herbed Sour Cream:

  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Combine ingredients in a small bowl. Season, to taste, and refrigerate until use.

hasselback potatoes hot out of the oven

This is a very basic potato recipe. There’s definitely room to spice it up: adding rosemary or your favorite herb straight on top of the potato seems like it would be a great combination. But it’s also great plain with salt and pepper. Just as addicting as those Magic Potatoes, but in smaller portions!

One Response to “Accordions of Goodness”

  1. Sunny July 30, 2009 at 8:53 pm #

    cathy, well look at your yummy pictures! i can tell you come from a great lineage of magic potato makers ;-). i’m so happy you gave my recipe a try. i am flattered, and i love your alternate suggestions! i always like to leave room for interpretation and often times jazz up my own recipe for this as well! a lil inside story, while shooting, i kept accidentally saying hasselbeck instead of ‘back’ so many times, we were all laughing so hard each time i messed up. anyway, just wanted to say thanks and hope you like the future shows. i’m still a newbie and i’m enjoying the dream, thanks for being a part of that by watching and taking a further step by trying.

Leave a Reply

